Is Domino Confectioner's Sugar Gluten Free?

Powdered sugar

Sugar is naturally gluten-free, and Domino sugars are no exception. While some sugar products may have hidden gluten-containing ingredients, you should be okay when choosing Domino's brand if you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

Gluten Status of Domino Confectioner's Sugar

Domino says all of their sugars are gluten-free, including the confectioner's sugar product. Ingredients in Domino confectioner's sugar include sugar and cornstarch. This manufacturer claims their powdered sugar contains 3 percent cornstarch and may provide an extremely small amount (less than 0.01 percent) of corn gluten, but that this amount isn't harmful for people with gluten sensitivity. Starches from wheat, rye, oats, spelt, triticale, and barley aren't used in the production of Domino sugars. However, if you're seeking to avoid gluten entirely, even from corn, you may not be getting that with confectioner's sugar.

Is Corn Gluten Harmful?

Many people with gluten sensitivity can safely tolerate corn and corn gluten. However, the Gluten-Free Society suggests gluten-sensitive individuals have reacted to corn products in a number of studies. The amount of corn gluten in Domino confectioner's sugar is extremely small. Still, if you have celiac disease or extreme gluten sensitivity, ask your doctor if this amount will be problematic for you.

What About Other Domino Sugars?

Because Domino manufactures so many types of sugar, you may be wondering if other Domino products are a source of hidden gluten. Domino claims none of their sugars provide gluten or have additives or preservatives in them. Even Domino brown sugar is free from caramel color (an ingredient that may be a hidden source of gluten), so it's likely you can safely consume any of Domino's products if you are sensitive to gluten.

Trending on LoveToKnow
Is Domino Confectioner's Sugar Gluten Free?