Is Miracle Whip Gluten Free?

Published April 5, 2018
Kraft Miracle Whip bottles

A favorite condiment of many, Kraft's Miracle Whip can be found in refrigerators all across America. This fat-based spread, however, may not quite meet all the dietary requirements of people following a gluten-free diet.

Gluten and Miracle Whip

Kraft offers a line of a dozen variations of the traditional Miracle Whip. Most of these spreads have a closely consistent ingredient list consisting of water, soybean oil, high fructose corn syrup, vinegar, modified cornstarch, eggs, salt, natural flavors, mustard flour, potassium sorbate, paprika, spice, and diced garlic.

The above ingredient list does not contain gluten. It is safe to say that none of Miracle Whip's spreads contain gluten. However, this does not necessarily make the line of Miracle Whip spreads completely safe for those following a gluten-free diet. Miracle Whip is not certified gluten-free. This means a third party is not required to inspect their final products or facilities. As a result, cross contamination may be more likely.

Risk of Cross Contamination

Kraft states they label all sources of gluten on their products to aid the consumer. However, this labeling may not account for cross-contamination that occurs in the manufacturing facility.

It is possible for gluten to make its way into a non-gluten containing food like Miracle Whip if the factory makes other gluten-containing foods. This small trace of gluten could result in negative health consequences for those with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. However, people following a gluten-free diet for lifestyle choices should be safe consuming Miracle Whip.

Certified Spread Alternatives

Miracle Whip is not certified gluten-free. Even though it does not have any gluten-containing ingredients, it is at a higher risk for cross contamination. For this reason, those with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity may want to reach for a certified gluten-free mayonnaise spread instead.

Trending on LoveToKnow
Is Miracle Whip Gluten Free?