List of Gluten Free Chocolate Products

Updated August 8, 2022
chocolate and cocoa powder

If your mouth waters when you think about chocolate, but you're on a gluten-free diet, don't despair. You can still enjoy many delicious chocolate products without risk.

Get a list of chocolate bars and treats you can eat free of gluten for those with sensitivities or celiac disease. Always remember to double-check labels for gluten ingredients since recipes for specific products can change.

Is Chocolate Gluten-Free?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat and other grains that some people can't digest, specifically those with celiac disease or with non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Chocolate is made from cocoa beans, cocoa butter, sugar, and vanilla. In its pure form chocolate does not contain gluten. But that doesn't mean that all chocolate products are safe for those who need to avoid gluten.

Many chocolate products contain added ingredients that contain gluten, such as wheat or barley products. Also, some products are at risk of gluten contamination because they are manufactured in a facility that also produced gluten-containing foods. As a result, if you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance, it's important to know which chocolate products are safe to eat.

Gluten-Free Chocolate Products by Brand

Several candy and chocolate manufacturers provide information on their product packages and/or on their websites about gluten. These brands have identified the following products as gluten-free. However, keep in mind that according to U.S. Food and Drug Adminstration (FDA) standards, a gluten-free food label means that the food can still contain up to 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.


Some of the Hershey Company's most popular products are gluten-free. Hershey states on its website that the following products meet the FDA's gluten free standards.

  • Almond Joy
  • Brookside Dark Chocolate
  • Heath
  • Hershey Nuggets (milk chocolate, milk chocolate w/almonds, special dark chocolate w/almonds, extra creamy milk chocolate w/toffee, and almonds)
  • Hershey's Fast Break
  • Hershey's Kisses (dark, white, and milk chocolate, caramel, cherry, and candy cane)
  • Milk Chocolate bar
  • Milk Chocolate w/Almonds bar
  • Milk Duds
  • Mounds
  • PayDay
  • Reese's Peanut Butter Cups (plain)
  • Reese's Pieces (except Reese's Pieces Eggs)
  • ROLO Caramels in Milk Chocolate (except ROLO minis)
  • Skor Toffee Bars
  • York Peppermint Patties (except York pieces, minis, or shapes)

chocolate chips in bowl

In addition to their chocolate bars and candies, many of Hershey's baking products and toppings are also gluten free.

  • Baking chips - Butterscotch, Cinnamon, Kisses Mini, Milk Chocolate, Mini Semisweet, Semisweet, Mint Chocolate, Premier White, Special Dark, Sugar Free, Reese's
  • Semisweet and unsweetened baking bars
  • Toppings - Chocolate Syrup (regular, sugar-free, and calcium added), Special Dark Syrup, Reese's Chocolate Peanut Butter Shell Topping, York Peppermint Pattie Sundae Syrup


Nestle also has many gluten free chocolate offerings. Here are some gluten-free Nestle chocolate choices that you can find according to their website.

  • Baci
  • Nesquick ready-to-drink (powders contain gluten)
  • Semi-sweet morsels, chocolate chunks, and mini morsels


In 2018, Ferrero bought several of Nestle's confectionary businesses. A few of their treats are gluten free as well.

Endangered Species

All Endangered Species chocolate products are "Certified Gluten Free" by the Gluten Free Certification Organization. They have a nice range of products to choose from, including filled bars with dairy-free creme, dark and milk chocolate bars with an assortment of fruit and nut add-ins, and organic bars.

Enjoy Life

Enjoy Life is known for providing tasty products for people with food allergies. In addition to being gluten free, Enjoy Life states their products are Verified Non-GMO and free from 14 common food allergens. Just a few of their chocolate offerings include:

  • Baking chocolate
  • Chocolate bars
  • Chocolate Chip and Double Chocolate Brownie Soft Baked Cookies
  • Chocolate Chip and Double Chocolate Crunchy Cookies
  • Chocolate Covered Strawberries
  • Coco Loco Chewy Bars
  • Harvest Bark
  • S'mores and Chocolate Sun Butter Decadent Bars

Gluten-Free Hot Chocolate

Even if you're following a gluten free diet, you can still enjoy a mug of hot chocolate on a cold day. Here are some gluten-free hot chocolate brands to try.

Finding Gluten-Free Chocolate

Remember to always read labels carefully before choosing the gluten-free chocolate treats. Don't assume that just because you don't see gluten ingredients on the label, the product is gluten-free. The product may have been made on or near machinery that also processes gluten products. Unless the product label says, "gluten free," read the entire label carefully for ingredient information. If you're not sure of the product's gluten status, choose a different brand to ensure that you stay healthy.

Trending on LoveToKnow
List of Gluten Free Chocolate Products