Are Corn Flakes Gluten Free?

Updated August 25, 2022
Tasty corn flakes in bowl with milk bottle

Are you a person who loves corn flakes and also follows a gluten-free diet? If you choose your cereal carefully to avoid wheat and gluten, you might assume that flakes made from corn are safe for you to consume. But are corn flakes gluten-free?

Unfortunately not all corn flakes are created the same. Various brands contain different ingredients and are manufactured using different methods. So, if you follow a gluten-free diet, you have to choose your corn flakes wisely.

Are Kellogg's Corn Flakes Gluten-Free?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat and other grains. It can be used to create bread and pasta but is also an ingredient used to give specific products flavor or shape, like corn flakes.

Traditional Kellogg's corn flakes sold in the U.S. are wheat-free but contain malt barley extract, so they are not gluten-free. They are not recommended for those with gluten sensitivities.

Kellogg's does not have a gluten-free corn flake variety available in the U.S. However, you can find gluten-free Kellogg's Cornflakes in the Australian market. So, there is hope these might come to the U.S. market in the future. These cornflakes are clearly marked gluten-free and certified FODMAP friendly.

Gluten-Free Corn Flakes Brands

A lack of Kellogg's gluten-free corn flakes can be a big bummer if you are on a gluten-free diet and need a corn flake fix. If you live in the U.S., you can find a few alternatives to Kellogg's available at your local supermarket and online.

These products are stored the same, keep as long as typical corn flakes, and you can use them as a 1:1 substitution in baking without any substantial differences in texture or the finished product. The only difference is you are less likely to experience the same sensitivities as you would with those that may be cross-contaminated or contain gluten ingredients.

Nestle GoFree Corn Flakes

Nestle has started a new line of go-free cereals, which includes corn flakes. These corn flakes are gluten-free, kosher, and made of maize, sugar, dextrose, salt, and vitamins and minerals (niacin, pantothenic acid, folic acid, vitamin B6, riboflavin, iron). You can also find honey flakes and rice pops through the same company.

Nature's Path Corn Flakes

Gluten-free and sweetened with fruit juice, Nature's Path corn flakes make the morning a little healthier. This low sugar cereal is organic and made from corn meal and/or yellow corn flour, grape and/or pear juice concentrate, and sea salt. Nature's Path follows strict policies to ensure its products are gluten-free.

Nature's Path Honey'd Corn Flakes

In addition to the regular corn flakes, you can find the Nature's Path Honey'd Corn Flakes, which are also gluten-free. These crispy corn flakes are seasoned with organic honey to add a little bit of sweetness. They are also non-GMO and certified organic.

EnvrioKidz Amazon Flakes

Amazon Flakes is a sweeter, more kid-friendly gluten-free corn flake produced by Nature's Path. This cereal is certified gluten-free, organic, vegan, and non-GMO. Amazon Flakes' simple ingredients include corn meal, cane sugar, and sea salt. This cereal is also dedicated to helping the blue macaws habitat.

Was this page useful?
Related & Popular
Are Corn Flakes Gluten Free?